Digital Scholarship and Pedagogy Subcommittee Members

Monthly Meeting Schedule:  Second Friday, 12:00pm - 1:00pm


Moose Alperin (Chair)School of Public Health
Bethany RobertsonSchool of Nursing
Deboleena RoyEmory College of Arts and Sciences
Dominic PapandriaSchool of Medicine
Kim CollinsEmory Libraries
LaTonia Taliaferro-SmithOxford College
Nancy BliwiseProvost Academic Affairs, Emory College of Arts and Sciences
Susan GagliardiEmory College of Arts and Sciences
Tracy ScottEmory College of Arts and Sciences
Allen Tullos (non-voting)Emory College of Arts and Sciences
Chase Lovellette (non-voting)Emory Center for Digital Scholarship
Kim Braxton (non-voting)Emory Libraries
Rosalyn Metz (non-voting)Emory Libraries


The Digital Scholarship & Pedagogy Governance committee will review and make recommendations to OIT leadership on technologies and technology-rich projects that advance the missions of the library, digital scholarship, teaching, and learning in the classroom. It is an established component of Emory University's governance process and meets on an ongoing basis. The committee provides direction on the portfolio of ATS, ECDS, and Library IT initiatives and future state architecture as well as facilitates opportunities for coordination across the Emory University environment. The committee consists primarily of faculty at Emory with additional membership extended to the information technology and library communities.


Based on the topic, the committee would report into the ITSC Steering committee. Some recommendations and decisions should be reported out to other groups, such as Library Cabinet, IT Planning Committee, etc. for broader input.

Policies and Procedures

1. Meetings

    1. Meetings shall be announced with adequate time for arrangements and preparation. Background material and a final agenda shall be circulated in advance.
    2. Meetings will nominally be scheduled for at least a 1-hour time slot on a semesterly basis in April and October. The committee may change the frequency of the meetings.
    3. Meeting minutes will be documented with key decisions and next steps from each meeting distributed to the members for comment and revision prior to becoming publicly available.

2. Decision Making

    1. Consensus is a core value. To promote consensus, the process requires the Chair(s) to ensure that the group considers all legitimate views, proposals, objections, and endeavors to reconcile them. When unanimity is not possible, the group strives to make decisions that are supported by the available evidence, and then to submit the issue to vote.
    2. Agendas will specify when a vote is scheduled, and supporting information will be circulated at least a week before a vote is to be taken, whether at a face-to-face meeting or by electronic means. This allows for absentee voting, which is typically completed prior to the scheduled vote.
    3. As common practice, the committee will devote time on the agenda for discussion of a decision that will be voted on at a future meeting to ensure members have time to deliberate. In addition, materials will be posted and distributed on the committee's collaboration site for review. There may be times when urgent issues arise when the committee might not follow this practice.
    4. A simple majority vote from the group of voting members is required for a final decision. Decisions are reached by face-to-face meeting, teleconference, electronic communication, or any combination of the above.
    5. There must be a quorum of at least 65% of the voting members present to conduct committee business.

3. Membership

    1. The membership shall consist of at least 7 but not more than 15 voting members.
    2. The committee consists primarily of faculty at Emory with additional membership extended to the information technology and library communities.
    3. The membership shall consist of a number of ex-officio members as determined by the OIT CIO and typically would include the Director of Academic Technologies, the Co-Director, Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS), and the Director, Library Technology and Digital Strategies.
    4. If the number of voting members falls below seven, the group is required to select additional members to reach the required seven.
    5. New voting members can be recommended by any member of the Digital Scholarship & Pedagogy Governance and are accepted by a majority vote. Balloting for new voting members may be done online or in person at a committee meeting.
    6. Membership term of service is 2 years; however, members can serve successive terms per the discretion of the CIO and the unit represented. The chairperson can work with the CIO and unit to determine the new member.
    7. A committee chair is elected every year at the final meeting of the academic year. Eligible members typically have had experience on the committee for at least one year. Members can serve consecutive terms as chair.

4. Attendance

    1. Every member must make a concerted effort to attend all meetings (face to face meetings and teleconferences). If a member consistently misses meetings, the committee may vote to remove that person's membership.
    2. Each Digital Scholarship & Pedagogy Governance member may choose a representative that could attend a meeting if the member is unable to attend. The member in question is responsible to see that the representative is informed of the present state of the Digital Scholarship & Pedagogy Governance business. The representative does not have voting privileges.
    3. If a member cannot attend for a semester, this person can designate a proxy in consultation with the committee chair. This proxy can vote on behalf of the committee member.

5. Openness and Confidentiality

    1. Meeting minutes will be published regularly. Meetings are open to outside attendance upon request.