Working Groups

WHSC HIPAA Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is the governing body for the WHSC HIPAA Security Initiative. They provide direction, authorization and approval of all the team's efforts to become HIPAA compliant.


  • Brad Sanford - Chief Information Security Officer, HIPAA Security Officer (Chair)
  • Anne Adams - Chief Compliance Officer - Emory Healthcare
  • Kris West - Assoc VP, Office of Research Compliance
  • Rick Aaron - Emory Healthcare IS
  • Marc Overcash - Deputy CIO, Rsch & Hlth Sciences
  • John Ellis - Dir of Integration/IDM, Office of Information Technology
  • Katherine Casey - Dir of Business Strategy/Planning Emory Healthcare IS
  • Michael Chilcott -  Information Security, Emory Healthcare IS
  • Doris Kirby - Assoc Director, Research Compliance
  • Belinda Maaskant - Assoc Director, IT - SPH
  • Paul Peterson - Dir of Infrastructure, Office of Information Technology
  • Mike Koluder - Dir of IT/Research Informatics, Winship Cancer Institute
  • Thomas Quinn - Dir of IT, School of Medicine

Core Security Working Group

Each member provides strategic coordination within their covered component area and helps develop technical and functional implementation guidelines, policy standards, tools, and templates to ensure consistent implementation across the covered entity. 


  • Brett Anderson, Enterprise Information Security (Lead)
  • Belinda Maaskant, School of Public Health
  • Michael Chilcott, Emory Healthcare
  • Karla Fields, Oxford College
  • James Kinney III, CCi
  • Ernesto Ince, School of Nursing
  • Circe Tsui, RWIT
  • George Wang, Enterprise Architecture, Office of Information Technology
  • Aaron Olsen, Yerkes Primate Center
  • Weiming Lu, Emory College
  • Eddie Parsons, Campus Life
  • Mike Koluder, Winship Cancer Institute
  • Jay Flannagan, Office of Information Technology
  • Thomas Quinn, School of Medicine